Comparison is a thief

Comparison corrodes creativity; here's a way out.

Listen to this episode: “Comparison is a thief”

I forgot to record a part of the podcast.

I meant to talk about how appreciation serves as a counterweight to comparison.

That’s what I’ve been discovering lately and what I’ve been returning to repeatedly as I work to lessen how much I compare myself with others, not always successfully.

That’s been a big bogey-man for years: comparing myself against others.

I can choose anything as a point of comparison: money, physique, creativity, family background, whatever.

And doing that brings the vibe down.

So I’m stopping comparison and found that appreciation is the best release from the comparison’s grimy lil clutches.

When I stop to appreciate, I see I already have so much of what I wanted in the past - and so much that other people dream of having. I find something about my life to appreciate when comparing myself to someone else. Even if small.

The idea relates to celebrating wins, which I talked about a few podcasts back.

I talk more about comparison and how it relates to creativity in this week’s podcast episode.

Specifically, I explain how building your lane AND cultivating a clear vision of the future that you’re creating will remove you right from comparison’s path. Those two things, along with appreciation, annihilate comparison.

Annihilating comparison matters because if you’re constantly comparing yourself to others, you’re being dragged this way and that, busting your ass, and never feeling like enough.

That’s a recipe for burnout, not success.

Listen to this episode: “Comparison is a thief”

“If you just want the best, turn to yourself for the rest/Forget about the ones who have it all.”