• Hypermemoir
  • Posts
  • Finding a creative voice isn't the same as being creative

Finding a creative voice isn't the same as being creative

Great artists have a point of view.

I recorded this episode a few weeks ago, but the topic of having a creative voice came up twice this week in a big way. I’m going to call it alignment.

The other day, I was hiking while listening to the audiobook of Rick Rubin’s “The Creative Act” (highly recommended, btw, as the man himself reads it), and he had a part in there that talked a bit about artists needing to have a point of view.

And how having a point of view is the thing that makes a great artist.

But he also describes how doing that is accessible - the point of view emerges from creating and sharing the things you create with the world. You don’t need to decide what your point of view is explicitly; you need to create, share, and repeat.

In a different context, I was talking with a group of creators about how having a creative voice (or point of view) will be the thing that helps artists avoid commodification in a world of generative AI.

Maybe AI can replicate your technique, but never your perspective or experience you share through your art. And that’s what people really crave and want to connect with.

So I am glad I am releasing this episode this week.

In the episode, I talk about what it means to develop a creative voice. I talk about my difficulties in using my creative voice for so long and the societal forces that are deadset against any of us having a creative voice.

I end with a few actionable steps to find your creative voice.

Since this podcast is about finding a creative voice, this episode is crucial listening, and I hope you will take a little time to do so.

PS - I would love to get some ratings and reviews on the podcast platforms if you can. It really helps the podcast to spread. So if you think my actions would help more people, I would love that support. No pressure, though. 🖤

PPS - How does this topic strike your fancy?