The Morning Moron

My high school zine got the cops called.

Listen to this episode: “The Morning Moron”

Frankly, much of it was pretty cringe and nonsensical.

But what do you expect from a couple of 14 and 15-year-old boys in the early 1990s?

We had created a zine that we called the Morning Moron.

It's a joyfully insane version of The Onion wrought by suburban kids from Southern California.

The Morning Moron - insane and unbridled creativity circa 1992.

But it wasn’t the cringey and nonsense content that got the cops called on us.

It was something else entirely, which I explain in the podcast episode.

🚔 Anyways, our zine got the cops called on us, and it fucking sucked.

It’s only recently that I began engaging with this episode from my life. Yes, I remembered that it happened, but I also shoved the emotions around it way deep.

I had felt shame.

I had felt fear.

I had felt alone.

And as a teenager whose adoptive parents had just split, it all felt too much.

But those feelings, once relegated to the shadow, begin to show up repeatedly, plotting subconscious sabotage.

Which is what they did in my life for decades.

The feelings around this turned into a massive creative block that always had me second-guessing what I made and worrying that I’d get shut down unfairly.

It is easier to keep things under wraps then and not fully express myself.

So that’s what I am talking about this week.

I am sharing this story from my life to illustrate how experiences from our past can continue to impact our creative present - unless we excavate them. ☠️

I talk about how I was able to cast this experience differently and how sharing it with you lessens its power.

I hope there’s something in there that you can relate to - and it’s a good story, even if not.

Listen to this episode: “The Morning Moron”

PS - Thank you to everyone who’s been emailing me. I appreciate the support. 🖤