Death by overthinking

We'll never be "ready."

Listen to this episode: “Death by overthinking.”

I have so many projects that never saw the light of day because I planned them to death. 

I wanted to make sure that I was getting everything right.

I wanted to feel like I was “ready.”

But the goalposts kept moving while the initial inspiration faded into nothingness.

I learned later that this kind of over-planning (a species of perfectionism) just served as a mask for fear. It was much easier to read yet another book rather than take the uncomfortable step forward.

Of course, the correct answer is usually the one that feels uncomfortable.

So, in this episode, I talk a little bit about the curse of overthinking and how we can counter it so that our creative projects get going.

Also, thanks to everyone who has been enjoying the episodes I share about moments in my creative life - like last week’s episode about the zine I made that got the cops called on us in high school.

I am still trying to balance episodes that focus on prescriptive insights (like this one) and those more about personal stories.

I am not sure 🤔 I’ve figured it out yet, but I am grateful to have a chance to share it all with you and learn by doing.

Listen to this episode: “Death by overthinking.”

PS - thanks to everyone who sent me an email last week. Appreciate it.